Critical Stakeholders

During development of the NGSS, Critical Stakeholders were selected; distinguished individuals and organizations that represent education, science, business and industry and who have interest in the Next Generation Science Standards. The members were drawn from all 50 states and have expertise in:

  • Elementary, middle and high school science from both urban and rural communities
  • Special education and English language acquisition
  • Postsecondary education
  • State standards and assessments
  • Cognitive science, life science, physical science, earth/space science, and engineering/technology
  • Mathematics and Literacy
  • Business and industry
  • Workforce development
  • Education policy

The Critical Stakeholders critiqued successive, confidential drafts of the standards and provided feedback to the writers and states, giving special attention to their areas of expertise.


Adelphi University
Afterschool Alliance
Alaska Science Education Consultants
American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT)
American Chemical Society (ACS)
American Federation of Teachers (AFT)
American Geological Institute (AGI)
American Geophysical Union (AGU)
American Institute of Physics (AIP)
American Psychological Association (APA)
American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE)
American Society of Agronomy (ASA)
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
Arizona State University
Arlee (MT) School District
Armstrong Atlantic State University, College of Education
Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE)
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
Association of Presidential Awardees in Science Teaching (APAST)
Association of Public and Land Grant Universities (APLU)
Astronomical Society of the Pacific (ASP)
BayBio Institute
Big Hollow (IL) School District # 38, Big Hollow Middle School
Big Horn (WY) County School District #3, Greybull High School
Biological Sciences Curriculum Study (BSCS)