Writing Team


The writing team was composed of 40 members, taking direction from the group of 26 lead state partners that developed the Next Generation Science Standards based on the NRC’s Framework for K–12 Science Education. To ensure fidelity to the Framework, the Framework design committee chairs acted as the chairs of the NGSS writing team committees, and Achieve coordinated the writing team on behalf of the lead state partners.

The writing team included experts in elementary school science, middle school science, high school science, students with disabilities, English language acquisition, state level standards and assessment, and workforce development. K–12 educators played a central role in the development and make up most of the writing team. The bios on this website describe the positions of the writers during the NGSS development process; it should be noted that many of the writers changed positions since the development process began. Individuals were selected based on recommendations from various groups, including the National Science Teachers Association and the Council of State Science Supervisors.

Writing team members represented our nation’s best as evidenced by their honors and respective roles within their state or district. Below is a list of the writing team members. Click any name to read the team member’s biographical sketch.

Name Position City and State
Carol Baker Science and Music Curriculum Director, Community High School, District 218 Orland Park, IL
Rodger Bybee Executive Director, Biological Sciences Curriculum Study (Retired) Golden, CO
Mary Colson Earth Science Teacher, Moorhead Public Schools Moorhead, MN
Melanie Cooper Lappan Phillips Professor of Science Education and Professor of Chemistry, Michigan State University East Lansing, MI
Richard A. Duschl Waterbury Chair Professor of Secondary Education, The Pennsylvania State University State College, PA
Zoe Evans Assistant Principal, Carrol County Schools Carrollton, GA
Danine Ezell San Diego Unified School District and San Diego County Office of Education (Retired) San Diego, CA
Kevin Fisher Secondary Science Coordinator, Lewisville Independent School District Flower Mound, TX
Jacob Foster Director, Science & Technology/Engineering, Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Malden, MA
Bob Friend Chief Engineer, Advanced Space & Intelligence Systems, Boeing Phantom Works Seal Beach, CA
Craig Gabler Regional Science Coordinator / LASER Alliance Director, Capital Region ESD113 Olympia, WA
Jennifer Gutierrez Science Curriculum Specialist, Chandler Unified School District Chandler, AZ
Jaymee Herrington Science Coordinator, Katy Independent School District Katy, TX
Lynn Lathi Hommeyer Elementary Science Resource Teacher, District of Columbia Public Schools Washington, DC
Kenneth Huff Middle School Science Teacher, Williamsville Central School District Williamsville, NY
Andy Jackson High School Science Teacher and District Science Coordinator, Harrisonburg City Public Schools Harrisonburg, VA
Rita Januszyk Elementary Teacher, Gower District 62 Willowbrook, IL
Netosh Jones Elementary Teacher, District of Columbia Public Schools Washington, DC
Joe Krajcik Director, CREATE for STEM Institute and Professor, Science Education, Michigan State University East Lansing, MI
Okhee Lee Professor, Science Education and Diversity and Equity, New York University New York, NY
Ramon Lopez Professor of Physics, University of Texas at Arlington Arlington, TX
Peter McLaren Science and Technology Specialist, Rhode Island Department of Education Providence, RI
Michael McQuade Senior Research Associate, DuPont Greenville, DE
Paula Messina Professor of Geology/Science Education, San Jose State University San Jose, CA
Mariel Milano P-SELL and STEM Coordinator, Orange County Public Schools Orlando, FL
Emily Miller English as a Second Language and Bilingual Resource Teacher, Madison Metropolitan School District Madison, WI
Melissa Miller Middle School Science Teacher, Farmington School District Farmington, AR
Chris Embry Mohr High School Science and Agriculture Teacher, Olympia Community Unit School District No. 16 Stanford, IL
Brett Moulding Director, Utah Partnership for Effective Science Teaching and Learning; State Science Supervisor (Retired) Ogden, UT
Betsy O'Day Elementary Science Specialist, Hallsville R-IV School District Hallsville, MO
Bernadine Okoro High School Science Teacher, District of Columbia Public Schools Washington, DC
Julie Olson Science Teacher, Mitchell School District Mitchell, SD
Julie Pepperman Lead Teacher, Knox County Schools Maryville, TN
Kathy Prophet Middle School Science Teacher and Science Department Chair, Springdale Public Schools Rogers, AR
Sherry Schaaf Middle School Science Teacher (Retired); Science Education Consultant Forks, WA
Jaqueline Smalls STEM Coordinator, Langley STEM Education Campus, District of Columbia Public Schools Bowie, MD
Cary Sneider Associate Research Professor, Portland State University Portland, OR
Paul Speranza High School Science Teacher (Retired) North Bellmore, NY
Vanessa Westbrook Science Education Consultant, Westbrook Consulting Services Austin, TX
Michael Wysession Associate Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Washington University St. Louis, MO